Pseudo-Guest Blogger: Dave Experiments With Chocolate Covered Bacon!

Chocolate?  Yes!  Bacon?  Yes!  Chocolate covered bacon?  Sign me up!  That was my thought process when Mel asked me to be a guest blogger and write about my first foray into creating chocolate covered bacon.  Who could pass up such an offer?  It’s a sweet and savory treat that combines two foods that I thoroughly enjoy.  Just ignore the fact that they neither are healthy when considered by themselves, let alone together.

I had been talking about trying some chocolate covered bacon for a while.  One night when we were walking home from running errands, we stopped in front of Jake’s Sandwich Shop on 12th street.  There it was, staring me in the face: Chocolate Covered Bacon.  It was barely dinner time but I knew that we had to try it.  We found a few things odd when trying Jake’s version.  First, the chocolate taste noticeably outweighed the bacon taste; we decided this was because there was a huge amount of chocolate surrounding the thin piece of bacon.  Second, the bacon was very crispy, too crispy.  Last, the pieces were really small; it seemed like each piece only contained a small portion of a strip of bacon.

With these issues in mind, we scoured the internet for some good recipes to create chocolate covered bacon at home.  After finding a few, I combined what I thought were the best recommendations and methods and created my first batch.

The raw bacon

The melting chocolate

The finished product

All in all, the first batch was pretty good.  Mel and I got to enjoy most of it, and we even managed to share some as well.  I learned some lessons for next time, but you’ll get the benefit immediately!

Chocolate Covered Bacon

Ingredients
¾ lb of melting chocolate (milk, dark, white – it’s your choice)
1 lb of thick sliced bacon

  1. Preheat the oven to 350f.
  2. Line a big cooling rack with parchment paper.
  3. In a double boiler, melt the chocolate completely until it is smooth.  Use a whisk to ensure that all pieces are melted and that it is not lumpy.  Remove from heat after melted.
  4. While the chocolate is starting to melt, line two cooking sheets with aluminum and place the bacon strips on the sheets.  Bake for 15 minutes or until crisp.  Remove immediately from the oven and transfer the bacon strips to paper towels to soak up any excess oil.
  5. Place the bacon strip into the melted chocolate.  Use a spoon or fork to coat the bacon strip completely.  After coating, place on cooling rack.
  6. Put cooling rack in refrigerator for 30 minutes to set the chocolate prior to eating.
3 thoughts on “Pseudo-Guest Blogger: Dave Experiments With Chocolate Covered Bacon!

  1. OK. Wasn’t so sure about it when you described it on the phone. But looking at a picture of the finished product makes me think it’s not all that disgusting. Love you guys! – ma

  2. I agree with you on the proportion of chocolate to bacon ration and consistency in most prepared versions. I’ve had the bacon cookies, chocolate bars etc. But when I make my bacon maple cookies with chocolate I use a good thick cut bacon.

Leave a Reply

